The Laureus Global Sports Awards Ronaldo, Murray, Curry and LeBron James in - Alldamoney

[Latest News][6]

Featured Posts
Latest News


The Laureus Global Sports Awards Ronaldo, Murray, Curry and LeBron James in

The likes of Stephen Curry, LeBron James, Andy Murray, Mo Farah, Usain Bolt, and Cristiano Ronaldo Sports biggest names all nominated for this year’s  Laureus World Sports Awards, to be held in Monaco on 14 February 2017. The Awards showcase the work of Laureus Sport for Good, which uses the power of sport to end violence.
The Laureus World Sports Awards were established in 1999 by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation founding patrons Daimler and Richemont and supported by its global partners Mercedes-Benz and IWC Schaffhausen. The annual award ceremony honors remarkable individuals from the world of sports with the greatest sporting achievements throughout the year.
The nominations come in five categories:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year
Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year
Laureus World Team of the Year
Laureus World Comeback of the Year
Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year
The Panel for the awards is composed of professional sports editors, writers and broadcasters who vote to create a shortlist of nominees In order to find the winners.

Those in contention for the Laureus Comeback of the Year Award include Argentine Juan Martin del Potro up against America's Michael Phelps, Spain’s high jumper Ruth Beitia, British show jumper Nick Skelton, Mauritius triathlete Fabienne, St Louis and Norwegian skier Aksel Lund Svindal

For the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award, are Americans Simone Biles, Katie Ledecky and Allyson Felix. German WTA No. 1 Angelique Kerber, Jamaican sprint star Elaine Thompson and British cyclist Laura Kenny are the nominees.

For the Laureus World Team of the Year Award, Mercedes AMG Petronas, European Champions Portugal, Champions League winners Real Madrid, Olympic gold medal winners Brazil, Winner of their first baseball World Series for 108 years Chicago Cubs and NBA champions Cleveland Cavaliers are also nominated.

For the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award Category, Formula One World Championship winner Nico Rosberg,Olympic world-record breakers Almaz Ayana and Wayde van Niekerk, and English Premier League Champions Leicester City, European Championship quarter-finalists Iceland and Olympic Rugby Sevens gold medal winners Fiji three teams who performed heroically in 2016.
The Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award: Swimmers Ihar Boki from Belarus and New Zealand’s Sophie Pascoe; visually-impaired Cuban sprinter Omara Durand, Iran weightlifter Siamand Rahman, Swiss wheelchair racer Marcel Hug and Italian fencer Beatrice Vio, all who took part in the Rio Paralympic games.

For the Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Award  men’s and women’s surfing world champions John John Florence and Tyler Wright ,snowboarder Chloe Kim, skateboarder Pedro Barros, mountain biker Rachel Atherton and Estonia’s freestyle skier Kelly Sildaru, who became the youngest ever winner of a gold medal at 13 in the Winter X-Games were all nominated.

The eventual winners, as voted for by members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, will be revealed in Monaco on February 14 and the first time ever, sports fans will have the chance to make their voices heard in a brand new Best Sporting Moment of the Year Award, which will celebrate the power of sport

Proceeds from the Awards directly benefit and underpin the work of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports over 150 community projects in several countries. These projects have already helped to improve the lives of more than one and half million young people.

Alldamoney '

features the latest political, financial,business and sports news to entertain and inspire ideas for business and lifestyle.

Start typing and press Enter to search